Usher.

I was in high school when Usher dropped the “Confessions” album. Of course I hadn’t been through any of the relationship mishaps that he was singing about, but I found them extremely entertaining and brutally honest. Love me some honesty. 

“Let It Burn” was one single from the album and dude really hit some valid points. I could relate to him burning inside, you know, when you really wanna hold on to something/somebody but it’s not healthy for you? Yeah. Yeah.

So here we are years later and “Climax” is at the top of the charts…no pun intended. Once again, my boy Ush is at the crucial point in a relationship where it’s not progressing. Sounds like a vicious cycle Mr. Raymond keeps getting himself into, but I’ll save elaborating on that for another day. Let talk about climaxing—

I found myself in a situation where I was giving WAY more than I was taking. Get your minds out of the gutter, this isn’t referencing between-the-sheets. But literally, I was exhausting myself mentally trying to carry this person on my shoulders. Everyday, there was an issue with them: stress, work is overwhelming, car is malfunctioning, health is in jeopardy, mom is trippin…always something!   So when I would focus my undivided attention to them, it began to drain me. At no point in time did I stop to refill my own cup, but I definitely continued to pour out what I had. And this individual absolutely kept drinking. 

After a while, I broke down. There was no more of me left. And that needy bastard blew me off, made it seem like I was the one ackin’ fun (acting funny). I even felt guilty for a moment & criticized myself for not being there. At that point I was forced to focus my attention inwardly. I did a self-exam, which forced me to conclude that this person is just too damn needy. They had a hefty circle of great friends, but wasn’t really returning any friendship! Hot diggity dog I’m a genius. 

So what did I do? Chunked up my deuces, found some new shit. Chris Brown. No, but seriously, I had to let them go before I found myself in a mental rut & the point of no return. 

Sure, my feelings were hurt, but it felt good to drop that dead weight. Jennifer Hudson. 

What do you have to say about it?

